Learn about the 4 Legendary racers in Moto GP history

So far, the FIM International Moto Federation has organized 5 modes, including MotoGP/500cc; 350cc; Moto2/250cc; Moto3/125cc; 80cc/50cc, and not a single driver has won all 5 formats yet. Only 4 racers have ever won 3 modes. They are Mike Hailwood, Phil Read, Valentino Rossi, and Marc Marquez.


Legendary Mike Hailwood is the first racer to appear on this list. He attended 4 modes including 125cc, 250cc, 350cc, and 500cc (there were five he joined at the same time) and won ¾ modalities. Starting from the 250cc formula championship in 1961, one year later he continued to conquer the 500cc format, in 1966 he continued to collect the championship title at the 350cc class.

In particular, this year he also won the 250cc class and almost always won the 50cc class when only finishing second, only 6 points behind Agostini. Total of Mike Haliwood 9 times (4 MotoGP/500cc; 2 350cc; 3 Moto2/250cc)


Like Hailwood, Phil Read also fought in 4 different modes and could not win only one form of 350cc. The British legend began to make his mark with the 250cc championship in 1964, the 125cc championship in 1968, and the 500cc championship in 1974.

Phil Read and Mike Hailwood themselves never competed in the 500cc class but many times in lower races. Total Phil Read 7 times (2 MotoGP/500cc; 4 Moto2/250cc; 1 Moto3/125cc)


Up to the present period, when drivers can no longer participate in many races at the same time, the chances for racers to win less and less. It took until 2001 that the third driver won the championship in 3 different formats. It’s Valentino Rossi.

Valentino Rossi

The Italian driver always won the second season, he joined that format. 1997 was the 125cc championship, 1999 at 250cc, and 2001 at 500cc. As of 2016, Valentino Rossi has 9 championships (7 MotoGP/500cc; 1 Moto2/250cc; 1 Moto3/125cc)


In the same light as Rossi’s achievement, the racer is one day behind him and is also the biggest counterweight to the current 46. That’s Marc Marquez.

The Spanish driver has an unprecedented record when he won the MotoGP championship in the first season of playing in this format in 2013. He is also the youngest driver ever to win the highest race. Before that Marquez won the 125cc class in 2010 and the Moto2 class in 2012.